Friday, August 10, 2018
TKC BREAKING NEWS!!! UMKC DESTROYING CARRIAGE HOUSE!!!
This afternoon we share an important alert regarding the city college annihilating one of the last remaining structures that makes their campus unique.
To wit . . .
SHAME ON UMKC FOR PLANNING THE ANNIHILATION OF THE CARRIAGE HOUSE IN ORDER TO MAKE ROOM FOR A DRIVEWAY!!!
While university scholars might make educated arguments regarding the efficacy of their decision, the campus is soon to become just a bit more boring and filled with boxy buildings that have little if any connection to Kansas City.
The deets posted just a few moments ago from Historic KC:
UMKC Schedules Demolition of the Dickey Mansion Carriage House
September 24th will mark the end of the large stately carriage house that was built in 1912 by Walter S. Dickey. As the carriage house for what is now known as Scofield Hall, the stone building sits just off Rockhill Road on 51st Street. It was part of the 20 acre estate and served as a garage, power plant and caretaker's home. The stone for the carriage house was quarried on the site and the architect for the estate was Roger Gilman of Kansas City.
Mr. Dickey died in 1931, and William Volker, who was interested in establishing the University of Kansas City (UKC), financed the purchase of the property to be given to the University. The mansion, greenhouse and carriage house were the first buildings operated by the University. In the 85 years of University ownership, the carriage house has been used for classrooms, offices, campus security and maintenance functions.
The historic structure is being demolished to create an enhanced driveway for a planned addition for the School of Computing and Engineering. #historickc #preservation
Developing . . .