Credit to this Missouri legislation that offers a crackdown against drivers who are even more dangerous than drunks . . .

If (Governor) Parson signs the bill, it will be illegal for drivers behind the wheel to physically hold a cell phone; write or read text-based messages; record, posting, send, broadcast video, make/receive video calls or use social media; and watching a video or movie.

There are some exceptions.

Under the bill, drivers will be allowed to make calls or receive them using voice-operated or hands-free tools that use a single touch or swipe; talk on the phone hands free; send or receive texts through voice-to-text features; use GPS navigation and music apps.

There are also exemptions for drivers who need to use their phones in emergency situations.

Read more via links . . .

New cell phone restrictions while driving pass Missouri legislature

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (KCTV) - Driving with a mobile phone in hand could soon lead to fines in Missouri. Missouri legislators passed Senate Bill 398, which included the "Siddens Bening Hands Free Law", Thursday, which will require all drivers to utilize hands-free cell phone features while behind the wheel.

Missouri distracted driving ban heads to Gov. Parson's desk

Fines would range from $100 to $500 based on the number of offenses. MISSOURI, USA - A major crackdown on distracted driving in Missouri is expected to soon take effect. A measure is now headed to Governor Mike Parson's desk to ban any driver from holding a cell phone while behind the wheel.