Jackson County Exec Picks 'Diverse' Redistricting Committee

This news isn't sexy but still important . . . Here's the word on how local votes will be divided up:

Jackson County Executive issues executive order announcing Reapportionment Committee of the County Legislature

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Jackson County Executive Frank White, Jr. today issued Executive Order 21-30 announcing the Reapportionment Committee of the County Legislature. In accordance with the Constitutional Home Rule Charter of Jackson County, County Executive White selected three nominees from a slate of six submitted by the Democratic and Republican County Committees. Each of the appointed committee members represent the six county legislative districts.

- Mr. Bobbie Hernandez (D) 1st Legislative District
- Ms. Shalonn “Kiki” Curls (D) 2nd Legislative District
- Mr. Paul Jungmann (R) 3rd Legislative District
- Mr. Ralph Munyan (R) 4th Legislative District
- Ms. Ruth Pirch (R) 5th Legislative District
- Mr. Phil LeVota (D) 6th Legislative District

“Jackson County is growing larger and more diverse,” said Jackson County Executive Frank White, Jr. “In the last 10 years, we have grown faster than major metropolitan areas like Los Angeles, Chicago, St. Louis City and St. Louis County. Additionally, I am proud to say that we are the most diverse County in the State of Missouri. As we work to build a better, more equitable Jackson County, the effort of this committee is critical to ensuring our residents have equal and fair representation for the next 10 years. I appreciate their service and my staff and I stand ready to assist as needed.”

Following the opportunity to receive input from the public, the committee must issue a report detailing legislative districts that are “compact, of contiguous territory and as nearly of equal population as practicable.” The report shall be filed with the County Executive’s Office, the Clerk of Legislature and the relevant election authorities within 60 days of the Committee’s appointment.

Developing . . .