"Due to a Missouri statute, individuals who are employed by a retail or service business whose annual gross volume sales or business done is less than $500,000 are exempt from the state minimum wage law."
Missouri voters approved Proposition B last November to increase the minimum wage by 85 cents a year until 2023. Proposition B took effect immediately on January 1st, increasing the wage to $8. 60 an hour. Some small businesses in the state will not be required to pay the increase.